top of page

Repair Hyundai Elantra Backup Camera


My backup camera on my Hyundai Elantra 2012 Limited broken and the replacement part was way too expensive. So I decided to make a few experiment to figure out I could replace it with a cheap Mazda 3 replacement camera. The camera I ordered was from ebay, by searching for the item "Accessory Rear View Camera Car Backup Reverse 6V"


As I couldn't find much help online, here is how i managed to replace it...​




1-First remove all the screw from the bunk cover.


2-Disconnect camera. Use a flat screw driver to push on the middle part of the connector if needed.

3-Check if cable is good. Put the car in reverse and monitor voltage between the red and black cable. It should read 6v. Make sure to put some stopper behind the wheel in case the brakes malfunction and you are behind the car...

4-Cut camera cable and solder the red and black cable to the power cord that came with the kit. Solder the white and yellow cable to the signal cable. I used a multimeter to find which of the 4 wires in the RCA connector was leading to the RCA connector. (2 wires doesn't seems to be connected in the cable that came in the kit). I ended up by soldering the black and yellow cable to the whilte and yellow respectively.

5-Remove existing camera by removing the 2 screws that hold the metalic bracket. The camera and the bracket should pop out.

6-The replacement camera is just a bit too wide to fit in the hole. So I cutted one of the side bracket.

7-I used some hot glue to tighten the camera in the hole and connected the thing!

Here is the final result! There are now two set of guides, one from my car, one built-in the camera I both and none of both does allign correctly with the actual position, but the image is really clear and I don't really need theses guides anyway!

One can see inside the camera by removing the 4 screws in the corner. Mine was all rusted! I feel like a camera of this price shouldn't suffer from weather, but anyway, it didn't costed too much to replace it. I took me about 1h also to fix it.

Tags:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page