top of page

Resolutions Charts - Mavic 2 Pro compared to other cameras

So I got myself a brand new DJI Mavic 2 Pro and I ran through many youtube video about issues related to the video quality, especially in the "FOV" mode (Full Field of View, which is interpolating 4k out of the full sensor) when compared to the "HQ" (High Quality that read only 4k pixels).


Having a DMC-FZ1000 as my main camera for a while I am already used to the cropped sensor mode and I though "HQ" was exactly the same but the "FOV" would be only one more option. But I was curious to test out how usable was the "FOV" mode.


So I used exactly the same resolution chart as most people on Youtube, but accounted for the fact that at different angle, the resolution reading would be different. So basically, I took what was supposed to be 1/6 of the picture height and scaled accordingly to the image ratio I obtained.


My result can be discussed as some camera have very strong anti-aliasing filter and it was hard to see the pattern changing directions, so in these case I read the number where I couldn't distinguish the lines.

Source: www.eronn.net

So here are my results:

The measured number of lines have some error to them. Probably something in the 10~20% range, but it can be used to compare the different cameras. For example, the h264 HQ and h265 HQ probably has the same resolution, but I measured a 6.8% difference.


The HQ mode of the Mavic 2 Pro has about 20% more resolution (20% per axis, so 44% more perceptible pixels in total). When compared to my DMC-FZ1000 the HQ mode has about 10% better resolution for what I assume to be the same sensor and same aperture which is great! The FOV mode has 10% lower resolution, but it has a nice gimbal and 10bit color profile with h265 100mbps which is presumably 4x most efficient than the Panasonic h264 100mbps so it is probably worth using even in FOV mode. On the picture side, the Mavic 2 Pro performed better as well, but I have to admit that I used the jpeg high quality for my Fz1000 instead of Raw as for the M2P.


Theses tests are purely resolution wise, but image quality wise, all mode are really nice to use. I return a similar 4k resolution as my Galaxy S7 but the compression, the colours and low light capability is nothing comparable.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page