top of page

Seeding Time!

Time as come again for seeding my veggies! This year, following some friends’ ideas, I’m putting some order in my starters. I though it would be a good idea to share here my setup…

So first idea is to use coloured popsicle sticks to label the seeds. I find the plastic labels that come from the market are too weak. Back to the good old material, wood resist to wind and sunlight better. With the colours it will also be easy to locate my plants.

To store my seeds from previous years use a bunch of used pills content labelled in S, M and L for Small, Medium and Large category respectively. Then I add a unique number identifier. Using a spreadsheet (or a piece of paper) I note the year of harvest and plants types. I opted for that method because I wanted to avoid wasting labels every year… Honestly it is a bit of pain to maintain the spreadsheet, but hey, it’s always cool to combine computers with plants!

There is one now one exception although. To preserve the tomato seeds, all I do is squeeze the tomato over a piece of paper. Then I place the paper drying under the sun for a few hours. The tomato juice will create a natural glue that will make the seed stick to the paper. Then to seeds them, simply tear a piece of paper with the amount of seed desired. The paper will quickly compost in the soil… Just be careful to place a heavy object so that the paper doesn’t fly away as when it dries, it become really light,

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page