top of page

The maple experiment

Each year, I’m trying to extend my harvest season. This year, I greatly exceeded last year record of early harvest. It was by the end of April where I was able to get some fresh violin heads, chives, Jerusalem artichokes and chocolate mints.

This year with the help of maple tree, I was able to start the harvesting by the end of February. I estimate I collected a little bit more than 400 liters this spring. This allowed me to produce about 10 liters of maple sirop and drink some fresh maple water!

This is my outside boiling and manual buffering setup:

I finished the boiling inside to control the temperature carefully.

I’m also experimenting a small batch of maple wine… I just finished the primary fermentation and settled it for the secondary fermentation last week end. So far the taste is really good and light on alcohol because I think not all sugar from maple tree can get converted to alcohol. I think this will be a perfect light drink for the hot days of summer!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page