top of page

Fixing Bebop drone camera lens


Following my heat map experiment I cracked my Bebop lens. First I followed many Youtube video on how to repair the lens using a door viewer. The results were initially not too bad but the image was lacking a little bit of contrast. The problem I encountered is that I used krazy glue to hold the lens in place after making my focus and it seems the glue fumes corroded the lens. The camera was then highly lacking contrast.

As the lens was now severely glued to the inner lens I had to seek for another solution. I found the following lens on Aliexpress: "HD 5MP cctv lens 1.8MM M12 mount fisheye lens for IP video surveillance camera wide angle cctv lenses". After removing the previous lens and exposing the Bebop sensor I realised this lens is slightly smaller than the original bebop lens hole making it perfect as replacement. Indeed it was lacking about 0.5mm in thickness which I solved by placing a tiny amount of hot glue. I waited for the glue to cool down and made some threads using the original lens. At the end it was pretty hard to twist the lens so I used a pair of pliers wrapped with electrical tape to protect the lens. This way I have been able to make the focus exactly as wanted.

Using plier with tape prevent scratching the lens...

Here is the trimmed camera tube with the new lens

This is the final result:

The image is sharp in the middle, but a bit soft on the edge. Also the video stabilisation is a little bit less efficient.

Finally here is a video on Youtube with some other details...

Tags:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page