top of page

Weird Tripods

Today’s I decided to share my collection of improvised tripod that I have snapshoot while travelling. The first thing you may wonder is: how did you take a picture of your camera? Most of the time they were taken with my cell phone, explaining the quality sometime pretty bad.

That being said, the goal of sharing these is first to have fun and second to hopefully give some ideas on how to achieve great picture while travelling “light”.

The reasons to improvise a tripod are various. I can be to take a selfie out of nowhere, to capture long exposure or to use a multi-shot technique.

Sometime trees make great tripod! They are everywhere and adjusted to the height. However, sometime getting the right angle is not easy!

For bottom-up picture, sometime I use my lens cap (5deg) or my wallet (up to 15deg when it’s loaded!) or both and place it/them under the lens. Of course, it is not rock solid, so you want to make sure to use a 2 sec delay to stabilize the camera before taking the picture.

Something very handy that I bought recently is this tiny tripod. It is not quite solid enough to support my camera in all angles, but it’s a great complement.

Of course, the classic Gorilla pods are always awesome! When it is not safe enough, I use the strap to also attach my camera. Like in this example on the 25th floor in Sao Paolo where I took timelapse by the windows during the whole night.

Pay attention to the second picture. Can you figure out how I took that selfie?

In this example in Brunei, I had to pass the camera through the grid disassembled, then mount the tripod behind the grids. Attaching the camera on the bars was safer.

In this example no regular tripod could fit. I had to improvise.

For the Top-Bottom picture, it is sometime more tricky…

Hope that give you some idea!

But of course, make sure to be careful when doing this stuff!

Take great pictures!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page