top of page

DIY Gazebo Sofa

While sorting my picture recently, I found snapshots of my gazebo sofa in construction. I though it would be a good idea to share with the community so that other people can get inspired.

My goals when I built my sofa were:

1-Save money. These can cost 1000$ quickly!

2-Have fun doing a new project.

3-Make it large enough so I can sleep on it.

4-Have some nice extra storage.

5-Recycle as possible.

Constraints I had to deal with:

1-Not having great saws, I wanted to avoid as much as possible cutting wood.

2-Maintains cost low.

3-I had to find COTS bellows that fit on it.

After a few brainstormings, I found that having it 8 feet long was the perfect size to avoid cutting each horizontal piece of wood, while permitting 4 COTS bellows to fit on it. For the support I re-used old 2x4 inch and some remaining deck tint for the color. The piece of wood are either glued and stapled, nailed or screwed (for the arm and legs)


I am not going to pass through the whole building process as anyway i'm sure people want to creates their own sofa with their own part, but I hope it can get some people inspired!

The total cost including taxes was as following:

1-80$ of wood.

2-240$ of bellows. (10 total, but the two white ones are recycled)

The most expensive part was of course the bellows and should be taken into consideration if you intend to build one your self as it is fairly easy to find recycled wood for almost free.

The thing is pretty heavy. So instead of trying to move inside for the winter, I simply lift it a inch from ground to protect against moisture and wrap it adequately to protect it against the snow. On the back there is a lot of storage, which is handy especially during the winter to store the other gazebo accessories under it.


If you are to build one, ensure to use light piece of wood for the seating surfaces so that it can bend slightly when you seat on it. It will be more comfortable. Also ensure to let enough spacing in between the boards. This is to let evacuate humidity, dirt and water.


In the bottom of my last picture above, you can see that I have attached the legs together to avoid them to split apart. This give extra strength and it make the sofa easier to slide in the gazebo if I need to move it.


Have fun this summer!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page